News and Commentary

Dan WarfieldBy Dan Warfield
Principal, CC&C Europe

Along with the release of the TOGAF® Standard, Version 9.2 in April, The Open Group announced a new credential called TOGAF® Essentials 2018. The new credential is a quick bridge to v9.2 knowledge and credentials, only available to current TOGAF 9 certified individuals.

A three-hour training covers the key differences between versions 9.1 and 9.2.

After the training The Open Group will send you a link for the 20-question online assessment. Passing the assessment earns the TOGAF® Essentials 2018 badge, which demonstrates your commitment to staying current with TOGAF.

Adding the badge to your CV, LinkedIn profile, etc. can be valuable for career advancement in your own firm or others.

The training is a quick way to learn about the new features in TOGAF v9.2, including:

  • Changes to support today’s IT environment such as DevOps, agile, cloud and platform-based computing.
  • Significant extensions (such as Capability) and updates to the content metamodel
  • Updated and simplified definitions of key terms
  • Restructure of the TOGAF Body of Knowledge

After October, The Open Group will require that for anyone who wishes to be an instructor for accredited TOGAF 9 training must have earned the TOGAF® Essentials 2018 credential.

CC&C offers TOGAF® Essentials 2018 training as live online instruction. Our four-hour sessions include the accredited Open Group course as well as insight from one of our senior architects.